Home > Ilong-Ilonganon > take philosophy out of the church

take philosophy out of the church

Sarte please let mee see you smile.hehehe

de Beauvoir: Sartre please let mee see you smile.hehehe

I have been dead serious with my past entries and I am thinking of making an experiment that would spice my content better. Humor oh yes! I have to add traces of that and inject a little language of inarticulateness. As student of philosophy I seldom encountered humor in our class because most of the lectures were trite and heady and lacked of freshness. College philosophy, as some deem it, is an ultimate pain in the butt, so ideal that you couldn’t flout it in any means. The problem I guess are with words, the constructions and the terms that sound like alien blabs frantically uttering their paean such as geist, dasein, cognito apriori..atbp. These are absolutely foreign terms that I also abhorred during my college years but I had to swallow them obediently just to get my scholarship going. But can we relay philosophy without sigh of drowsiness? Maybe. Ask Bob Ong.

Here are some complex philosophical ideas that can be subject to humor. These are some of my favorite thinkers with their famous clichés:

1. Life is absurd.-Albert Camus

Dabubu: Imagine yourself looking at two ducks copulating. Because you hate their natural boldness for simple reason that you get squeamish to witness it, take your gun and shoot those boobies. Then you cook them and eat them with delight because you’ll never get to spot their “I don’t care if you see us, so what” again.

Totomel: Uhuh? Then What?

Dabubu: Now, the boobies turn. You start to feel excruciating pain possessing you that you want to call all the idadalmons, angeles, santos kag martires. You rush to the hospital and find out that the fowls were actually carriers of bird flu.

Totomel: That is improbable.

Dabubu: Yeah. Yet the more  experience becomes absurd, the better Camus idea is proven.

2. Hell with other people-Jean Paul Sartre

“We have to get married darling,” de Beauvoir said.

“No way. There’s a problem with absolute freedom that I’m working on. It’s like writing using my pen’s butt,” countered Sartre.

“Mind you,” de Beauvoir retorted. “Your shortness will apparently speak of your performance. Would you mind me writing about it in my Second Sex? After all, feminism means audacity.”

“ No please! Let’s get it done, come to my house and we’ll get married on our own.”

HELL WITH OTHER PEOPLE KA DYAN!!!

3. Art is the spearhead of the society-Susanne Langer

Abulad: We can only change Philippine society if we are able to develop an original Filipino Philosophy.

Paul Medina: Hindi naman siguro. Du-drawing na lang ako to make our society change into my society. Drawing lang yan bro.

4. The ultimate arche of the universe is water; ergo everything is made up of water.-Thales

Propesor: De facto, our body is 70 % made up of water.

Estudent: Sir, I think that’s erroneous.

Propesor: Who are you to question me? TUBIG KA LANG!!!

Estudent: Aba, nagsalita ang bato!

I hope that philosophy will never stay boring all the time. Maybe its time to get some innovation: take philosophy outside the church and start drawing it in comics. Besides, philosophy should be better understood in the light of our cultural humor. Kay ang filosofiya indi gid man dapat boring borj. Di ba?

D end.

Categories: Ilong-Ilonganon Tags:
  1. dabubu
    October 1, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Japosart. With you,
    philosophy is never
    boring. ha ha ha

  2. inksdot
    October 2, 2008 at 10:26 am

    hahaha that’s funny dbubu. thanks

  3. dabubu
    December 10, 2008 at 4:21 pm
  4. DFish
    May 14, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Hihi. “Take philosophy outside of the church.” Not with the Negro spiritual totomel as a case in point versus the drowsy classrooms of idea explorers…I read Abulad’s. Could you possibly be at USC?

    • totomel
      May 15, 2009 at 2:35 am

      oh yes sir.hehehe

  5. May 15, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Had some response to your snappy questions Bro…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

