Home > philosophy > Question and Answer Portion

Question and Answer Portion

.

When I was a child I kept asking my folks  about many things even though I had not grasped all of it.  That was because my fetal mind had not yet evolved into a digital processor which digests  and rationalizes information and transforms them into knowledge. My brain was a mere bucket that catches all the data including nonsensical remarks and different versions of truth from the older people even though they themselves were convinced of their fictitious contents; the worst, they would just shoo me by telling that my time would eventually come to understand these things. Thus, I hanged like a monkey deprived of one more step in the vast room of natural selection and shunned into developing confidence to search for answers. As a child, confusion was a question unresolved. I did believe in that.

Not anymore. Even now that I am past twenty and answers are available in all corners in the world, you tend to lose the inquisitive nature of a child in you. The childlike characters simmered down to oblivion as answers can be achieved in just a mere click of a keyboard. Just press the enter key and charan! All answers are yours. Yet, with this wide array of theories and laws, I still couldn’t convince myself of a single truth. The shambles of thoughts have created confusion in the current learning process and in turn reduced everything to ambiguity. Which is; which isn’t?  This is the best latte!  No I think it isn’t because this hip is better. And how in the world will one know that we definitely evolved from monkeys well in fact my family looks more of a wildcats? Oh yes! Wildcats are lovers of coffee compared to monkeys and therefore Starbucks lovers ascended from wildcats. Meoww you! This might be ridiculous in one sense but it  bears some point. As what I have learned in elementary science, we all come from a unicellular creature evolved to adapt to the changing world; mitosis moved in rapid pace along with the rotation of our mother earth resulting to diversions between a monkey and wildcats.  Even the neo-Darwinist discovered that humans have 120,000 similar genes with rodents. Hail you scientists! But can’t you see we all evolved in amoeba and it is not a remarkable discovery after all.  It is not surprising that our behavior may resemble like rodents populating the street and not minding the dreams and hopes of our progeny in confine with global economic recession.  Do you think Adam then was an amoeba formed into a rat? Maybe yes, maybe no. We never know.

I am not to speculate about things here. What I am trying to derive is:  in this world, there is a great danger in confusion. And this is really bad as the A(H1N1) that is highly contagious. It will drive you away from truth and cunningly enough to lead you to no certainty. Hence, cease walking my friend and start to examine life. Look at knowledge with contempt by probing it. Question it, I say.  However, I do not claim to know life nor claim as notable intellectual who roams the greatest café of Paris drinking and indulging in talks concerning the  existent paradoxes for I am just a lowly man, plain and trivial. I just want you to know that it is better to be childlike than to be lost as intellectual. In life, sometimes questions are far essential than answers.

***

P.S. Questions are ubiquitous and sometimes very irritating, but only through responding to these questions shall we leave our imprints, either good or evil.

I have nothing against my nature coming from wildcats, as long as my soul emanated from God.

Categories: philosophy Tags: , ,
  1. joy
    May 7, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Questioning who we are and our existence is a useful tool with which we support our faith. So keep at it!

    Thanks for visiting Norwich Daily Photo and leaving your comment. Come back tomorrow for more of the Keukenhof series!

    joy
    A Pinay In England
    Your Love Coach
    I, Woman

    • totomel
      May 8, 2009 at 1:11 am

      thanks Maam Joy, ill visit you often 🙂

  2. May 7, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Even though I don’t believe in evolution, I follow your thought. This is exactly what’s confusing; These many theories that man invented when in fact they remain “theories” because no one has proved their absolute veracity yet. There’s always a “missing link” to their so-called truths as opposed to God’s wisdom that is complete and total.
    ~~~
    You are right about childish inquisitiveness. Even Gaarder would approve of it. 😉 We are called to be childlike even in the Bible, and are warned about man’s philosophies which cause us to stray from the Truth.
    ~~~
    While it is true that sometimes questions are far essential than answers, we must also be on the lookout for God’s answers. He holds the answer to everything. We only have to listen…and yes, of course, ask. =)
    ~~~
    You are not plain nor trivial. In fact, you have a deeper view of life than most people I know…and your questions, your questions always have substance. (Aside from those times when we get really crazy. =P)

    • totomel
      May 8, 2009 at 1:11 am

      you are very right Mir. thanks for reminding me. we may have different faith, but we believe in the same God.

      thank you! 🙂

  3. May 9, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Another nosebleed… 🙂

    I like your last line… In consonance with my faith, I believe that God created the universe in stages. Whatever those stages are, science offers us different answers. The Bible simply describes those changes poetically. I am also not for or against evolution, except when the picture of the theory of natural selection comes in…

    No matter how much we probe, there are also questions which we cannot fully answer with our limited brains. Like, why is there suffering? Why does God allow evil in this world? Why is there pain?

    When presented with these questions, God showed the beauty of creation according to Job… He lists down the grandeur of His power…

    And so, for questions whose answers are beyond this life, we are called to have faith.

    Great post… Now I’ve got to wipe my nose… 😀

  4. AC
    May 11, 2009 at 3:04 am

    “it is better to be childlike than to be lost as intellectual. In life, sometimes questions are far essential than answers.”

    — you are so right. that’s why i always consider myself childlike because i am always seeking answers. 😉

    but sometimes it depends on the situation din, i have different sets of approach in every aspect of my life.

    teka teka.. magulo ba.. hehehe.. basta, cant explain further eh. baka maging joe d mango bigla tong page mo pag nagkataon. hahaha! 😆

  5. totomel
    May 11, 2009 at 4:14 am

    hehehe…thanks for dropping by again Anna Cecilia. firstly, i think your name is no longer secret when you posted it publicly in my page.hehehe. but im comfortable in calling you AC… how coincidental to have your name definitely spelled with my favorite football team, “AC Milan” (Itallian Series A).

    secondly, i got your thought, well and clear. whoever gets here is welcome to leave comments…and friends, i consider them. 🙂

    • AC
      May 11, 2009 at 5:26 am

      hehehe. of course, when i said that “secret lang” syempre joke yun haha eto naman masyado jellible. syempre binabasa ng madlang pipol itong page mo noh. 😉

      btw, cecilia’s the name of my mom. 🙂

      • totomel
        May 11, 2009 at 5:32 am

        i was also joking when i said that.hehehe 😆

        i hope ana is not the name of your father.hahaha 😆

  6. May 11, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    If we exist by evolution, how come we learn diff languuges, we have brains diff from animals we love and put sacrifices for our love ones?
    i believe in creation by God than evolution to the proof of: we are created with conscience…

  7. totomel
    May 12, 2009 at 1:00 am

    thank you for visiting again Maam.

    i respect your belief 🙂

  8. DFish
    May 12, 2009 at 2:38 am

    Deep blogging you got here, totomel. I’ll be your regular visitor. Thank you for dropping by my desert tent…

  9. totomel
    May 12, 2009 at 4:00 am

    thank you too Dfish. you are always welcome here. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

