Home > letters, philosophy > Payo’ng Kuya

Payo’ng Kuya

warning-sign-thumb4385840‘Cuz, after a very busy week in the office, I feel happy now to get back to my computer and write things that caught my attention during my entire field work. I have noticed that while traveling, my mind soars high to think why the sun has to be yellow or why water has to be wet. And as exactly what I had feared, I have now turned out to be very speculative. Grrrr!

By the way, forgive me if I have been damn serious about some things with the tendency of attaching peculiar thoughts on them. This blog has been colored by some as a philosophy page simply because I was thinking weird. Sorry, I cannot help it. If there is anything or somebody whom you could trace back as to why I have been behaving like this, please turn your gaze to my course and my teachers for inculcating oddly ideas in my hollow cranium. Even when I have been speaking with ideas, deep inside I hate philosophy that I was eager to unlearn everything to get myself back to the ground.  But much to my gusto to keep away from it, I know it is now too late. Once philosophy takes hold of your brain, you no longer have the power to pull it out.  It is like the HIV virus – once you get infected, you have to bear with it for a lifetime. It will flow in you like blood and will grow like budding Parkinson’s, too capable to distort your cognitive skills. Once philosophy lures you, be sure to stand on guard or else you’ll be washed away with delectable baits of intelligence which serves like narcotics to drown you in elation. And you will be the biggest fool if you succumb to it. Why?  Because, in the end, after having been subjected to thorough indoctrination, you’ll realize that the simplest principles in life are what we learned from the children, from the farmers, from the priest, from your friends, and not the airy ideas of Santayana, Marx, Wittgenstein; and other boring names such Kierkegaard, Sartre, Bergson, Jasper; not to mention of course the hard to stomach lines of Mills, Hobbes, Spinoza and Descartes.

You see, there is a terrible risk in taking philosophy. My advice is simple: do not drink it nor eat it.  It might send you to a pedestal where you will be transformed into an oracle of Plato or a mooter of Aristotle and would be very busy cogitating about fascinating topics all for the sake of discussion. But I assure you in the long run, you will be too pre-occupied with ideas and you will start to get forget to put on your slippers or bakya in ascending to the pedestal – the more you progress, the bigger the gap grows between your feet and the ground.  Anyway, I just hope that I made myself clear. The risk of philosophy is high and I suggest do not take it as your course in college. Aside from the danger of losing your ground, you will find it hard to earn money to feed your stomach; and not just that, if you ostentatiously prove your mind, you will be mistaken to be crazy. So save your best for something worthy and while you still have time, SHIFT! After all, there is so much beauty in natural sciences than liberal arts. But if you really want to know about philosophy, all you have to do is read. It doesn’t need 4 to 5 years of finishing the course, either AB or PhB, to know it by heart. A little brain will suffice.

***

P. S. Joke! Hehehe.

  1. July 24, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Hahaha… I like this! Period.

    • TóTómel
      July 26, 2009 at 2:13 am

      why?hehehe

      you like it because i dont like philosophy?hehehe

      • July 26, 2009 at 2:21 am

        I like it because… you make me wanna say… “pag sure uy!” =P

        But seriously, I like the way you dare say the truth (or joke) about worldly wisdom which other people take too seriously.

        • TóTómel
          July 26, 2009 at 2:30 am

          hehehe… speaking of the worldly wisdom, it gives me nothing but anxiousness. whereas, the Godly wisdom, which i could easily scan on the Bible, gives me elation within….and i really fell in love with it. I may write about it when i get a long free time.

  2. July 25, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Nosebleed ko… Hehehe…

    I still believe it will still be difficult for those who do not have the penchant for it. And it’s different for those who have been formally schooled rather than those who just read about it…

    Reading about philosophy I guess, to quote Joker Arroyo during the impeachment trial while debating with John Osmeña: “It’s the refuge of the uninitiated.”

    And my 12 units of Philo don’t count as “schooled” or initiation. 🙂

    Be proud of your course…. 🙂

    • TóTómel
      July 26, 2009 at 2:19 am

      hahahaha…thank you mark. i know there is nothing that go to waste in philosophy and there is more to it than what i said.

      i just doubt that you don’t have the mastery of it, when all your comments have a tinge of philosophical thoughts. nah! if you have been speaking of it without being “formally initiated” ( which i recognize to be very erudite), how much more if you have been schooled in AB or PhB program. Siguro, this page may have been far inferior to yours.hehehe

  3. July 26, 2009 at 2:30 am

    I like Kierkegaard. Hehe. Wala lang.

    I remember my parents encouraging me to take Philosophy as my college course so that I would “mature.” Hehe. Maybe i should have listened to them? haha but seriously, I believe a degree in Philosophy is a great deal like a Law degree. You may not be practicing it (in the sense of being a full-time philosopher, if there’s such a thing apart from the philo.professors), but the mental discipline that you get from it will aid you all throughout your life.

    • TóTómel
      July 26, 2009 at 3:09 am

      Kierkegaard is a widely read philosopher because of the simplicity of his ideas. I like him also Gabi. 🙂

      Oh…i am glad you didn’t listen to them.hehehe. Maturity does not rely on one’s course but on individual will. Philosophy may help you in thinking for sure, but after immersing yourself to complicated ideas, you eventually fall back to the basics. And if you try to go back to ground, you will realize that all philosophies are just complications of these basics.hehehe. I simply adhere to what Robert Fulghum said: “All I really need to know I learned in kindergarten.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

